New Reviewer

Six Tan leather all developed black cracks

Crate And Barrel - Six Tan leather all developed black cracks
Crate And Barrel - Six Tan leather all developed black cracks
Paid $300 each for 6 tan leather chairs and they all developed blacks cracks which keep on expanding. Can’t even sell them they are so bad. I put cheap cushions on them to partially hide I talked to a sales person at the store and said he knew about the problem. Now I read that I am not they only one with this problem. They have gotten worse since these photos.
View full review
ID
#1601336 Review #1601336 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lafayette, Colorado
Product
Crate And Barrel Folio Dining Chair
Cons
  • Regret decision
  • Horrible customer service
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Lied about delivery time frame

I ordered a custom sofa and they said 6-9 weeks. I just checked on the order and it wont be ready until sometime in July. Then customer service told me it will then have to be shipped to their warehouse before it ships out to my client. They also said that it would be sitting for 4 weeks before it ships out to the hamptons. that means a total of 15- 16 weeks for the item that they originally said would be 6-9 weeks. I would have never ordered this item from them and I will never order anything from them again!!!!!!
View full review
ID
#1541666 Review #1541666 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Boca Raton, Florida
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$1200
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Poor phone service.,on line inquiry

Cooks tools are on sale as shown on line. they are shown as a set. for $39.99. person answering the phone did not mention that you could get these cook tools from Oxo individually without the whole set. She could have saved me a trip to the store by paying for them.
View full review
ID
#1527034 Review #1527034 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Poor customer service
New Reviewer

Resolved: Pulled the rug out from under us!

We bought a rug at Crate & Barrel at Westfield UTC for $1,399, plus a delivery charge. Within two years the rug started falling apart, despite our very gentle, limited use (no kids, no pets). Despite our sending photos of the defective rug, after a long time on hold, Crate & Barrel tried to charge us a huge "restocking fee," "pickup fee" and then issue us a store credit instead of a refund, thus trying to force us through the "freight" and barrel process again. What a horrible experience!
View full review
Resolved
ID
#1509347 Review #1509347 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
San Diego, California
New Reviewer

Leather chairs peeling off

leather chairs from CB are peeling off !!! barely used, both show same symptoms . the top layer of the leather is falling off...ugly sight and unusable....was expensive when we got it...
View full review
ID
#1490001 Review #1490001 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Crate And Barrel Folio Dining Chair
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$600
New Reviewer

Made it right

spoke to manager at park meadows - chairs are in! salepeople never followed up or called... he is delivering chairs and taking back the loaners -- also was very nice and apologized profusely. all good.
View full review
ID
#1442221 Review #1442221 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Denver, Colorado
Service
Crate And Barrel Customer Care
Reason of review
Good customer service
New Reviewer

Resolved: WORST ordering experience (furniture)

Update by user Jan 06, 2019

manager tracked the order and chairs are in.

Update by user Jan 06, 2019

Manager was in! Spoke to him after 3 phone calls with Staff in 2 days and getting nowhere. The Chairs are in - they arrived 2 days ago and he was very apologetic about the system leaving me in the lurch and most understanding of a customer's perspective.The ordering system is still a nightmare but the manager was kind and patient and extremely helpful.I will pick them up in 3 days - i am happy.

Original review posted by user Jan 06, 2019
Crate and Barrel Furniture store sections are essentially showrooms. You must order everything - lamps, rugs, sofas, chairs, etc.. So in that regard, one would make the wrongful mind you, assumption that they have this part of the business model down. It is the essential piece after all. Not the case. They will give you a date of arrival. But that means nothing really. The order can be late, no one tells you. you do not receive an email - or tracking. This is largely because they really do not know when you will get what you ordered. They also are unaware of manifests and never know what the delivery truck will delivery to the store on their delivery day. In addition, you have to make umpteen phone calls to disinterested salespeople to check on your order. The manager is never in and they never know anything about arrival, etc. Such a waste of time. In 2018, in a primarily mail order business - WHO CAN OPERATE LIKE THIS? Apparently they have enough gullible consumers like me who are foolish enough to order from them in the first place. The chairs we ordered and paid for in full 2.5 months ago are now 1 month late. No idea when they will arrive and the salespeople do not really care one iota about customer satisfaction or the resolution of questions (like when will my chairs arrive?) I wouldn't return to Crate and Barrel on a bet. Once we get our chairs - if we ever do - I am finished. Terrible way to operate a business.
View full review
1 comment
#1624969

manager made it right - chairs are in - all is good. they still have a crazy ordering system but the manager cared enough to get things right. John was excellent.

Resolved
ID
#1442184 Review #1442184 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lone Tree, Colorado
Service
Crate And Barrel Shipping Service
Pros
  • Fact that they loaned us chairs over the holidays
Cons
  • Salespeople act annoyed when i call to follow up on order
  • Never received chair and customer service is horrid
  • Cant tell us when our chairs will be in
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$600
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer
Update by user Jan 13, 2019

I would say that no the complaint was not rectified to my satisfaction. I ultimately demanded a full refurn based on the deceptive nature of their order and shipping practices.

Promising delivery then no delivery multiple times. i wrote a complaint to their customer...

View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1612813

Our family has mutually agreed to terminate the gifting aspect of Christmas. We'll stick with a tree, dinner, songs, and some dessert I shouldn't eat.

We're all lucky enough and work hard enough to have everything we want or need and have decided against feeding into the commercial mayhem (feeding or being consumed by ?) . No more problems.

ID
#1423527 Review #1423527 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Cons
  • Deceptive business practices or poor management
Reason of review
Order processing issue
Loss
$70
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Worse company to deal with

Crate and Barrel has the worst online order and customer service I have ever seen anywhere. I orders two different items and paid for separate wrapping (extra charge for that of course).Items came in in one box wrapped together.So ,I get in touch with their customer service who resent the items,promising to refund me the money I paid for the wrapping and extra box(8 days later,still no sign of the refund) ,and guess what,when the second order came in ,they were AGAIN in one box.Now the second mishap arrived a day before i was to give those presents to two different people which forced me to spend Saturday driving around to find adequate boxes to wrap the presents separately so that I can make my friends happy.. Of course,i contacted C&B again and they offered to send me a 50.00 dollars for the two wrong orders.I turned their offer down because they are the one who twice made the same mistake in the same week.They seem to be very oblivious or I would say,not concerned at all for their mistakes or for wasting my day off to find presentable boxes and wrapping,and they said they will forward my emails to their Home office to find a resolution,adding that I will be contacted within 48 hours. 96 hours later I still haven't heard a word from their home office,so i sent another email and this time ,the next day someone called me,apologized,saying the email was not sent to them until today.So now i am looking at customer service that lied or was lazy,not sure which is worth and still no resolve for two orders that they didn't fix. Home office upped the bribe to 100.00 gift card (that's what they called resolving the waste of my day off and ruining two perfect gifts for my friends}.Yes i turned down their offer,but also told them social media will hear about this.It is not a question of revenge at all, a company like C&B proved to be unorganized,liars and seem to not care about their customers and that is what I am showing here.
View full review
1 comment
#1599706

I purchased a sofa that had a defect from Their Woodland Hills, California, store. The sofa brand new was delivered with a rip on the front.

When I called the number provided for repair, I was given a car repair company. The man could barely speak English. When I called back and spoke with someone else I was told they use the same glue/adhesives as the do for cars to repair. I questioned if these were toxic as I have some children.

I was told they didn't know.

My sofa remains ripped and I feel completely ripped off. I will never purchase another Crate and Barrel product.

ID
#1397724 Review #1397724 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Marietta, Georgia
Service
Crate And Barrel Shipping Service
Reason of review
Order processing issue
New Reviewer

Dresser for the Nursery

I ordered a changing tray and dresser for my grandson’s nursery. The shipping was outside their area so it cost $300. When I submitted the order it said in stock, ready to ship, arrives in 2-4 weeks. Two weeks after I ordered it, it had not shipped, so I called C&R. I was told the dresser would arrive in the warehouse 27 days after I ordered it, then it would take 2-3 weeks for delivery. It showed on my orders that it was picked up by a freight company, was on it’s way. It never arrived. I called C&R and they claimed they could not find the dresser—this took about 1.5 weeks. They ordered a replacement. It again had to be shipped to their warehouse and then sent by ground freight to be delivered and it would take another 4-6 weeks for that process. I started calling earlier on the replacement because the baby was due any day. They finally told me it would be delivered 4 weeks after it left the warehouse. It was scheduled for that week. They did refund my $300 shipping fee. It was never delivered. I called the following week. I talked to a manager who discovered the dresser had been damaged and could not be delivered. So I ordered the dresser July 3, I found out on September 24 that it could not be delivered. I cancel the order. I discovered the first dresser was also damaged in shipping. My biggest complaint is that not once did Crate & Barrel call me to let me know the status of two damaged dressers, I also could not get anyone to follow through on my inquiries until it was past the date the dresser was supposed to be delivered. My order was escalated, it was prioritized, it did no good. I called at least a dozen times, I sent a half a dozen e-mails, which by the way take days to answer. My grandson arrived on 10/5, he had no dresser/changing table. Just an empty space in his nursery. My daughter bought a dresser locally last week, it’s being delivered today. So less than a week and it also had to be shipped from the warehouse. Why can’t Crate and Barrel follow their deliveries? It doesn’t make sense when Amazon ships millions of orders and tells you exactly where it is as it makes it’s way to the customer. I received a $50 gift card for my trouble, but I am not sure I even want anything this company is selling.
View full review
ID
#1377948 Review #1377948 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Sugar Land, Texas
Service
Crate And Barrel Customer Care

Rubbish

Took my money and no delivery - absolute joke!!!! No resolution, nothing...
View full review
ID
#1367350 Review #1367350 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New York, New York
Reason of review
Order processing issue
New Reviewer
Stay away from this store. Horrible customer service and management. Save yourself time and money and go somewhere else. Bought a table there and after 4 weeks they shipped the legs of the table (yes I am serious) and now they are saying they dont honor their own sale...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1566915

QUOTE : "I have made almost 30 calls" QUESTION : At what point did you realize (have you?) that your method is ineffective at best and comical at worst ? I can hear it now - "Hey Eddie, it's the leg lady again - transfer her to Sonny, ha ha" You must issue a formal written demand and serve it via Certified Mail return receipt requested.

Briefly and politely state the situation and the remedy you desire and that you will allow 7 business days for remedy prior to escalation of the case. Keep copies of all correspondence and your postal receipts. Accept or place no more calls, etc.

then follow through with your promise to escalate if not satisfied. Small claims court is good, forget all about the BBB.

ID
#1363489 Review #1363489 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Palo Alto, California
Service
Crate And Barrel Customer Care
Cons
  • Horrible customer service
  • Never received chair and customer service is horrid
  • Long delays
Reason of review
Order processing issue
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer
Crate And Barrel - Sonata chair leather peeling
Crate And Barrel - Sonata chair leather peeling
Crate And Barrel - Sonata chair leather peeling
Crate And Barrel - Sonata chair leather peeling
I bought 6 black leather Sonata chairs from Crate & Barrel in 2012. They were very gently used for about 5 years, then they started getting more use. Shortly after the use stepped up, we noticed the leather peeling off and cracking and the legs and back loosening. The...
View full review
View full review
4 comments
#1786787

I purchased four of these in 2007 and two more in 20012 because I got a bigger table. I noticed that the newer ones had no springs, I figured C&B did this to save on cost but what I now realize is that they also cheapened the leather.

My old ones look great with a beautiful patina. My newer ones have peeled and cracked and look terrible. It discusses me that I paid almost $500 a chair thinking I would get a lifetime of use. Although they get these from a supplier in Italy, I can’t be sure if C&B was aware of this change in manufacturing.

I am now stuck with four classic chairs that look great and two pieces of garbage.

It has soured me on crate and barrel and I’m not sure if I will purchase anything from them ever again. These are no longer made in leather and I am going to seek an upholstery shop to see if I can match the old leather.

View more comments
ID
#1314763 Review #1314763 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pasadena, California
Product
Crate And Barrel Sonata Dining Chair
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$1500
New Reviewer

They took my money and I never received the furniture

Update by user Jul 27, 2018

Still trying to get refund from CB2 for the chair, ordered months ago, that I never received

Original review posted by user Jul 26, 2018
Ordered chair May 18 when it was in stock; CB2 shipped it immediately. When I didn't receive it they claimed it was "lost," but by then it was back ordered until, supposedly, July. They strung me along for months as I called multiple CS agents, waiting on hold an hour each time, to get status. Also tried email to CS. Each time the agent (Alejandra, Nilsa, Carl, Linda, Sue, Caley) promised to call me back with status but never did. Each time the agent promised the replacement chair in late July. Caley even gave me her email address so I could check on ETA. July 26 I emailed Caley for status. She replied that chair was not back ordered until late Sept. I replied in email "PLEASE CALL ME." Within 30 seconds, instead of calling she sent an email vacation responder and ignored subsequent emails. I reported her and the other problems to management and cancelled the order. I no longer think Crate & Barrel is a trustworthy furniture company. Their customer service is the worst I've ever experienced.
View full review
ID
#1313923 Review #1313923 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • I liked the chair i ordered but never received
Cons
  • Never received chair and customer service is horrid
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
New Reviewer

Took money and never got delivery

Trying to get outdoor furniture Ordered waited 4 weeks and were told it wad not available Ordered another item told to wait 2 weeks. 3 weeks later they said it would be in in a month
View full review
ID
#1290771 Review #1290771 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Washington, District Of Columbia
Service
Crate And Barrel Shipping Service